Driving Video Recording System Trial Scheme
   Home > Information Release >

Main Content

Driving Video Recording System Trial Scheme


The Fire Services Department (FSD) will launch the first phase of its Driving Video Recording System (DVRS) trial scheme tomorrow (August 8). The system will record road conditions during traffic incidents involving FSD vehicles for analysis and training as well as to serve as evidence if needed, and the first phase of the trial scheme will last for six months.

A spokesman for the FSD said today (August 7) that, with increasing demand for emergency services, heavier road traffic and a more complicated traffic network in Hong Kong, the number of traffic accidents involving FSD vehicles has increased, from 248 in 2008 to 471 in 2012 and 395 in 2013.

Traffic accidents may result in injuries to the passengers of the vehicles (including FSD staff) and other road users. Delays may also be caused to FSD vehicles on the way to providing emergency services, thus affecting the safety of those in need of help and the efficiency of emergency operations.

 “The cameras of the system will undoubtedly help reduce blind spots to enhance safe driving. In case of traffic incident, the video clipping can assist Police’s and departmental investigation into the cause of the incident. Once the cause of the incident is identified, FSD can devise appropriate driving training to improve our staff’s skill and responsiveness. Lastly, in case of any road user failing to give way to an FSD vehicle resulting in unnecessary delay to a scene of emergency, the video clipping will assist in Police’s investigation and serves as corroborating evidence,” the spokesman said.

Before implementing the trial scheme, the FSD made reference to overseas experience, and the staff side was also widely consulted at meetings of various levels in various divisions within the department.

In the first phase of the trial, six fire appliances including two hydraulic platforms, one major pump, one light rescue unit, one turntable ladder and one multi-purpose van will be installed with the system. The system on each vehicle is comprised of five cameras (one at front, one at left side, one at right side, and two at the rear). Prominent signs are displayed on the vehicles so that other road users will notice that the vehicles are fitted with the system. (Please refer to Annex 1 on the positions of the five cameras and Annex 2 on the DVRS sign.)

The DVRS will only capture views outside the vehicle and will not film the driver or passengers inside the vehicle. There will be a video recording function, but no audio recording function.

The DVRS will be activated automatically once the engine of the vehicle has been started via the ignition key and will stop once the engine is stopped. The system will record views captured by four cameras (When the vehicle reverses, the reversing camera will be activated and begin recording. The reversing camera and the front-view camera will not operate at the same time) and the images recorded will be stored in a built-in data memory card which can store footage up to five hours in length. When the memory capacity is full, subsequent video recorded will overwrite earlier footage. The data memory card of the DVRS will be locked and only authorised persons will be able to retrieve and review the memory card and handle the video information. The memory card will only be able to be retrieved using the special tools provided by the system's producer so as to prohibit any unauthorised access.

“Once an FSD vehicle installed with the system is involved in a traffic incident, we will retrieve and retain the relevant video clipping for Police’s and departmental investigation into the cause of the incident, as well as for analysing purpose with a view to improving the driving skill of our staff.  All the video clipping will be destroyed upon completion of the above purposes and any subsequent legal procedures.  In case some video clipping is considered suitable for driving training purposes, it will be retained for such use after removing images that involving personal data,” the spokesman said.

“We have consulted the Department of Justice and the Office of the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data on the proposed trial scheme and confirmed that the scheme would not contravene relevant legislations.  We have also devised mechanism and guidelines to ensure the proper handling and disposal of the video clippings.”

“Details of the trial scheme will be uploaded onto FSD’s Homepage and the FSD’s intranet for information of the public and FSD personnel.”

 “FSD will conduct a review after the trial to determine the way forward. We will also continue to listen to views of staff at different levels and the public, with a view to refining various arrangements of the trial scheme,” the spokesman said.

 

Annex 1

Positions of cameras installed on fire appliances

Hydraulic Platform

Major Pump
Hydraulic Platform
Major Pump

Light Rescue Unit

Turntable Ladder
Light Rescue Unit
Turntable Ladder

Multi-Purpose Van

 
Multi-Purpose Van
 
 
Annex 2
Driving Video Recording System sign
DVRS sign

 



 2003Copyright| Important Notices | Privacy Policy
Last revision date: 6-08-2014

香港消防处
「行车影像记录器」试验计划
    主页 >

主要内容

资料公布>

主要内容

「行车影像记录器」试验计划

为了记录涉及消防处车辆的交通事故发生时的路面情况,在有需要时作分析、驾驶训练和提供左证用途,消防处将于明日(八月八日)起推行为期六个月的「行车影像记录器」(记录器)首阶段试验计划。

消防处发言人今日(八月七日)表示,随着紧急服务的需求不断增加、香港路面交通日益频繁以及交通网络转趋复杂,涉及消防处车辆的交通意外数字在过去数年有明显上升的趋势,由2008年的248宗增加至2012年的471宗及2013年的395宗。

交通意外对肇事车辆的乘客(包括消防处人员)及其他道路使用者,都可能会造成伤害,而正在执行紧急服务的消防处车辆亦可能因交通意外而受到阻延,对市民的安全及紧急行动效率带来一定影响。

发言人说:「『记录器』的镜头可以减少驾驶时的盲点以提升行车安全。一旦发生交通事故,『记录器』录下的影像有助警方及部门调查交通意外的成因;消防处并可因应事故成因制定针对性的驾驶训练,以提升本处人员的驾驶技巧及应变能力;至于消防车辆在前赴紧急事故途中,如因其他道路使用者不让路而导致不必要的延误时,录像片段能协助警方进行调查及提供左证。」

消防处参考外国经验,并分别在部门各分区的各级会议作出简介及讨论,经广泛咨询员工后,展开这项试验计划。

在首阶段的试验计划,六部属五款不同种类的消防车辆(两部升降台、一部泵车、一部细抢救车、一部钢梯及一部多用途客货车)会装上「记录器」。「记录器」共有五个定焦镜头,分别安装在车身的前方、左方、右方及后方(后方的两个镜头包括后视镜头及倒车镜头)。(有关镜头的安装位置请参阅附件一)

所有装有「记录器」的消防车辆,车身上都会张贴「记录器标贴」,以便其他道路使用者识别。(有关「记录器标贴」的样本请参阅附件二)

「记录器」只会录取车厢外的影像,而不会摄录车厢内(例如司机或乘客)的情况,并只提供录像功能,不会进行录音。

系统由匙火控制,当车辆引擎被匙火启动或关闭时,「记录器」会自动启动或关闭。「记录器」会同步摄录其中四个镜头的车外环境(倒车镜头与前方镜头不会同时摄录,当倒车时,前方镜头不会摄录,并会切换为倒车镜头摄录),所录取的影像会储存到内置的储存卡。储存卡可储存约五小时影像,当储存容量达到上限后,循环录像便会开启,前期影像会被清除及覆盖。「记录器」的储存卡会被锁上,只有获授权人士才能提取或检阅储存卡及处理影像数据,并需使用厂方提供的特殊工具才能提取,防止未经授权人士取阅。

发言人说:「若有装置了『记录器』的消防车辆涉及交通事故,消防处会提取及保留有关影像数据,用作调查事故原因,及用作分析用途,并在完成上述用途及相关的法律程序后,将数据销毁。如消防处认为部分影像片段适合作改进驾驶训练的用途,会先将片段内涉及的个人资料删除,然后保留有关影像作内部教学用途。」

「消防处已就建议的试验计划咨询律政司及个人资料私隐专员公署的意见,并确定试验计划并没有违反相关法例。消防处会设立机制及制订守则,以确保有关影像数据得以妥善储存及处理。」

 「计划的资料将上载本处网页和本处的内部网络,供市民和本处属员参阅。」

发言人说:「消防处会在首阶段试验计划完成后检讨结果,评估成效以决定下一步计划。本处会继续聆听部门各级人员及市民的意见,以完善试验计划的各项安排。」

 
附件一

消防车镜头安装位置

升降台
泵车
细抢救车
钢梯
多用途客货车

 


 

附件二

「记录器标贴」样板

 

 



 2003版权所有| 重要告示 | 私隐政策
修订日期: 7-08-2014